Bexar County, Texas

The city of San Antonio is governed under a council-manager form of government. The city is divided into ten council districts, each with a population of around the same size. The mayor is elected on a citywide basis, while each district elects one person to the city council. San Antonio City Council members, including the mayor, are elected to two-year terms with a maximum of four terms (except for those who were in office in November 2008 and are limited to a total of two terms). Term restrictions in Houston and Laredo are comparable to those in San Antonio. Texas law mandates that all posts be elected on nonpartisan votes. Members of the council are paid $45,722, and the mayor is paid $61,725 every year. Ron Nirenberg, the current mayor, was elected with 54.59 percent of the vote in 2017. Nirenberg was re-elected in 2019 by a razor-thin margin over conservative rival Greg Brockhouse.

To handle day-to-day operations, the council selects a city manager. The council effectively serves as the city’s legislative body, with the city manager serving as its top executive, overseeing day-to-day operations and ensuring that council legislation is carried out. Erik Walsh is the current city manager.

CPS Energy, the city’s own electric and gas company, is run by the city. San Antonio’s municipal law enforcement agency is the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD). The San Antonio Fire Department (SAFD) protects the city and provides emergency medical services.

The city spans several national congressional districts and is represented by the following members of Congress:


  • Ted Cruz (R)
  • John Cornyn (R)

House of Representatives

  • Texas District 20: Joaquin Castro (D)
  • Texas District 21: Charles E. “Chip” Roy (R)
  • Texas District 23: Tony Gonzales (R)
  • Texas District 28: Henry Cuellar (D)
  • Texas District 35: Lloyd Doggett (D)
  • State Governor: Greg Abbott (R)

Contact Information

Physical Address

City Hall 100 Military Plaza
San Antonio, TX 78205

Mailing Address

PO Box 839966
San Antonio, Texas 78283
Office Line: 210.207.6000

Media Contact

Office Line: 210.207.7234


City Information 210.207.6000
Request City Service 311
TTY 711 or
1.800RELAY TX (210.735.2989)


Need City Information, call 210.207.6000
To report a complaint or request a service:
Dial 311 or 210.207.6000

General Information

Boards and Commissions
City Council
Council Committees
City Manager
City Attorney
Elected Officials
Animal Service
Economic Development
Parks and Recreation


Would you like to add your business to our site?