The restaurant includes the Guenther House’s original kitchen, tea room, dining room, and outdoor arbor areas.
The “Ballroom-type” seating in the basement restaurant reflects the turn-of-the-century hotel and restaurant decor. The use of stained glass, symmetrical lines, and profuse plant themes mark the Art Nouveau style of the 1920s. The miller’s trade is reflected in the room, which was built between 1915 and 1918, with plaster bundles of corn and wheat utilized as supports for the mantel and wall buffet.
The Guenther House, the family home of our founder Carl Hilmar Guenther, opened to the public in 1988 as a restaurant, museum, banquet facility, and gift shop. The Guenther House is a showcase for C.H. Guenther & Son’s traditions and history. In our restaurant, we serve an all-American breakfast made using Pioneer goods and our special San Antonio River Mill brand. In our gift shop, we have a big selection of cooking items. We also cater gatherings both inside our facilities and on the grounds.
We provide items, processes, and concepts that C.H. Guenther developed and managed his business since 1851. After nearly 30 years of stacks of Pancakes and Biscuits topped with Gravy, The Guenther House currently serves over 200,000+ people annually while upholding our mission of providing the highest quality services and goods. Customers that visit The Guenther House on a daily basis, order our products to be transported across the United States, or hold an elegant event in our facilities and grounds can take advantage of our unique products and services.